The Stress of Writing a Great First Post

September 9, 2010 at 2:45 am Leave a comment

How do I begin? What do I want to say? I’m feeling the pressure and trying to think of the first thing to post on this new blog that represents me, sets the tone for the rest of the posts to come, and makes this blog…interesting. Well, like my friend Natasha Bedingfield, who wrote a song about not being able to think of a song to write; I’m writing a post about not being able to think of a post to write. Is any idea really original? When I first heard that song I thought it was ridiculous. You are writing a song about not being able to think of the words for a song? Cop-out. But, not really.

“Trying to find the magic
Trying to write a classic
Don’t you know, don’t you know, don’t you know?
Waste-bin full of paper
Clever rhymes, see you later”

Natasha. I’m sorry for judging you while I sang loudly in the car to your song about a song. I’m singing to the same tune. But tone deaf. That’s what my friends say at least.

Now, for a little bit about me. I am a 22-year old recent college graduate who was thrown into the working world less than a week after walking across the stage that I dreamed of since I was a little girl. When someone screamed out “yah mel cohn!” when I was asked to stand up for my GPA achievements, it made the moment a little less academic and a little more…kill myself.

Now, I am a marketing coordinator at an advertising agency battling between what I want and what I know. Social media intrigues me. Reality TV speaks to me. Friends mean the world to me.  Love drives me.

I seriously love…love.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

No TV. Hello Old Textbook.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Women Online

