No TV. Hello Old Textbook.

September 13, 2010 at 3:24 am Leave a comment

I am all set and moved into my new house. Only problem is, there is no TV. What a media/pop culture/ consumer/ marketer to do? Read her old Public Relations text book of course.

I woke up this morning not ready to rise, but not able to go back to sleep. Normally, I would hop on my computer to check the Facebook and Twitter accounts of my clients, but no internet. I turned my head to my bookshelf. Which has become my jewelry shelf. With a few books. None of which I’ve touched. After spotting my public relations text book I decided I was going to give it another try. Epiphany. “I like this book” I thought to myself. It’s amazing how much better text books are to read when you don’t have to read it. I actually got something out of the pages I read mere months ago to pass the next days quiz. Teachers should really re-think required reading. It really is so much better to read textbooks with clear eyes, rather than grade hungry ones. Oh, and examples make reading ten times better. Thanks Seitel. You added some color to those pages.

So. I had my moment. I learned. I was academic. I was productive.

Today I bought an US magazine. Lauren Conrad was on the cover. Naturally I grabbed it.

My textbook reading was only the flavor of the morning. Gossip is the flavor of tonight. I guess I will never leave my pop culture self behind. But, isn’t that what makes me, me?

I seriously love…love.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Stress of Writing a Great First Post Challenge Day, I Love You.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Women Online

