“The Social Network”: How Facebook Got Started

October 11, 2010 at 4:43 am Leave a comment

Since I eat, sleep and breathe social media everyday, personally and professionally, I thought I’d be doing an injustice to myself not to see the movie, “The Social Network.”

So tonight, I did what every social media professional has done the past week, and went to the movies to see how my job got created. I saw the “The Social Network,” and I left inspired.

Great movie.

I wasn’t sure about it at first, but I really didn’t know the full story of how Facebook got it’s start. The movie put me back in 2003 when it all started. It was a perfect cast. Plus, the fact that it was set in Boston, my home city, was an added bonus for me. The way they shaped the story was intriguing. They centralized the story around the two lawsuits that Mark Zuckerberg was facing- one for an intellectual property suit, and the other for a business dispute. I didn’t realize Mark Zuckerberg was such a…jerk. But, frankly, the guy who invented Facebook, which made my job and my social life exist, can be anything he wants to be.

The complexity and emotion that goes into “inventing” or “re-inventing” an idea is fascinating. Did Zuckerberg steal the idea of Facebook? Or did he just go above and beyond a tiny idea to make it his own? My thoughts are that he took a small idea and made it bigger than the original creators could have ever thought imaginable.

I can say one thing, I need to brush up on my HTML skills. I also need to not care what anyone thinks about me. Zuckerberg proved that being an amazing programmer and an outcast that does only what he wants, can make you an empire. And fast.

Either way, he’s an inspiring guy who at age 26, is the youngest billionaire in the world.

In the movie, as president of Harvard, Larry Summers, says, everyone who goes to Harvard wants to invent something. Maybe I should go to Harvard…Maybe I will.

I seriously love…love. And Facebook.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Mother Knows Best: What I’ve Learned About Mommy Bloggers Top 5 Most Creative Breast Cancer Ads

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Women Online

