What Makes Me Smile

January 5, 2011 at 3:25 am 2 comments

This is my second post for Postaday2011 and as soon as I read the prompt, I knew exactly what I would write about. How often does that happen?

Prompt: Share something that makes you smile.

When I think of something that makes me smile, I think of someone in particular.

My lovely, beautiful Spanish Senora.

As a junior in college I took a  leap and decided to study abroad my Spring semester in Sevilla, Spain. I’ve never been so nervous in my life–traveling to another country all by myself, not knowing anyone, having to speak the language in classes and at home–I was overwhelmed to say the least. I knew I would be living in a home stay, and this was a big risk. But, it’s the best risk I’ve ever taken.

That’s when I met Mary. My kind, loving, supportive Senora who treated me like her own daughter, taught me what it means to be a mother, a grandmother, a best friend. Her phone never stopped ringing, a social butterfly on the outside, a deep soul at heart. Everyone’s confidant.

I talked to her about everything–all in Spanish–and she provided me the homey comfort I needed in a foreign, unfamilar city, accepted me as a part of her family.

I’ll never forget our long chats (charlas) at the table about her husband who died from Cancer, how she had to fen for herself afterwards and create a life of her own, her advice to me about love, life, traveling. We would compare insights about life in America and Spain one day, and the next share a quiet evening in silence, watching her favorite game show as she knit the entire wardrobe of her soon-to-be nieta (granddaughter) whom she loved so much already.

I never thought I’d have another mother/grandmother figure. But thousands of miles away, is Mary, mi familia, un gran parte de mi vida. Te echo de menos Mary.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Where I Want To Go So, You Want A Job After College?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anna  |  January 11, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    i loved being an exchange student but regret not having been to spain yet. i’ve heard so many good things about spanish people.

    i loved your story about Mary!

    Reply
    • 2. ilovelovee  |  January 11, 2011 at 3:46 pm

      Thanks Anna! Spain is such an amazing place–I’m sure you’ll get there soon. I recommend the Tortilla Espanola when you go. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Women Online

