Sticking Up For Yourself

July 22, 2011 at 9:00 am 2 comments

Amongst my friends, I’ve always been the one that stands up for myself and everyone around me. I hate leaving things unsettled and having feelings buried down. I always tell it like it is. I’m VERY confrontational.

However, there are parts of me like this that that I’ve noticed are slipping away. While personal and professional lives are separate, you would think that who you at the core remains for both.

But the boundaries in professional situations simply don’t allow you to be your full self whole heartily. Obviously, you can’t “tell it like it is” all the time. But, when you lose your sense of self in the process, that’s when you know that personal and professional must collide.

I’ve taken a step back and seen the strong part of myself slowly fade away as I’ve kept my feelings in. Sometimes, there’s a point where fear can’t hold you back anymore, and you just have to leap. I’m ready to take my leap, and gain the strength back that I’ve let people take from me over the last few months.

No matter what situation you’re in, never lose yourself for anyone else.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Why Didn’t I Think of That? Moving: Why I Want To Throw Something. Now.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BlackLOG  |  July 23, 2011 at 9:02 am

    I find that while I’m happy to stand up for myself and for others, sometimes it would be nice to get a bit of support….Why is it that people would rather be walked all over then confront ignorant and rude people.

    The only problem is trying to make sure you don’t go too far, in the confrontation. Coincidently my last Blog covered the fun of confronation…..

    Reply
    • 2. ilovelovee  |  July 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      I’m totally with you. I hate seeing people let others walk all over them, but at the same time, in a work situation it’s a difficult line to cross. Although I’m confrontational with friends, I’ve definitley learned that in business things have to change. However, things can’t change so much that you end up losing yourself and your integrity (which is how I felt). I’ll check out your blog post!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Women Online

