Turning Idea into Action: Young Women in Digital Event

February 20, 2013 at 1:48 pm 1 comment

YoungWomenInDigitalLogo_linkedin

When I moved to Boston a year ago, I knew I had to join groups to meet people in my field. There were so many options for things to do, I found myself overwhelmed. I attended events and met great people, but never felt like it was the perfect fit for me. So, I did what every basic marketer does: I decided there was a void/need in the market, I came up with a solution to fill this, and I implemented it. Enter: Young Women in Digital!

We kicked off our first Young Women in Digital event with a bit of a twist. Rather than a traditional cocktail party where you stand in one place all night, we hosted a Speed Meet & Tweet event for young Boston marketing women working, or interested in working in the online, experiential, social media and digital space. Everyone got to chat for 4 minutes at a time and then switch to the next person. Tons of amazing ladies came out from agencies, brands, non-profits and more to chat marketing and get to know each other. There were prizes given out for tweeting with our hashtag #YWDBoston (we received over 115 tweets–thank you everyone!), and the conversation flowed all night long (as did the drinks). Thanks to everyone who came out for the event–keep an eye out for the next one!

#YWDBoston

Chatting and tweeting and meeting oh my.

Chatting and tweeting and meeting oh my.

Let the speed meeting begin!

Let the speed meeting begin!

Checking everyone in with our handy dandy attendee list.

Checking everyone in with our handy dandy attendee list.

The 60's style suggestion box I created for the event. Your suggestions were far out ladies.

The 60’s style suggestion box I created for the event. Your suggestions were far out.

The 3 founders of YWD!

The 3 founders of YWD!

Mixing and mingling.

Mixing and mingling.

Twitter hashtag cards: #YWDBoston!

Twitter hashtag cards: #YWDBoston!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Beautiful Side of Nemo Healthy Eating [In Photos]

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  February 27, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Melanie, this was such an amazing event. Each of the girls I talked to were so happy to be there and loved the unique setup. Congratulations on making your dream a reality and finding success in it. I am very much looking forward to the next YWD event! xoxo Amy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Women Online

