Young Women In Digital Feature: Jess, Digital Marketing at Boundless

June 11, 2013 at 9:29 am 1 comment

We’re getting to know more about YWDs and their unique marketing jobs at each and every event. Now, you can learn about them even more with our one-on-one interviews. Say hello to Jess, our first YWD feature! Get the low-down on her life working at up-and-coming Boston startup, Boundless.

Image

What’s your current position?

Digital Marketing and Communications at Boundless.

Image

How did you land the job?

During my senior year in college, I joined a Facebook student group about startups and saw a posting for a marketing internship with Boundless. I started interning there within days of graduating and was fortunately hired full time couple of months after that!

What’s the absolute best part of your job?

The best part of my job is the variety of tasks I have to tackle. Writing has always been my passion and I love applying that skill in many places, like email marketing, web ads, blog posts, social media, and press emails. Aside from my actual job responsibilities, the amazing culture at Boundless makes work fun!

What’s the biggest challenge?

How does a company that has free textbooks for college students sound legitimate? A lot of students think our product is too good to be true, so our marketing team has to make it believable! We do so by explaining where we get the info for our textbooks and convey that in our marketing materials – in emails, on landing pages, or on flyers. The fun part is finding creative ways to explain this to students.

How do you get involved in the local Boston community–besides being an awesome YWD?!

I love stalking Eventbrite for fun events. I’ve met tons of great Bostonians at groups like YWD, Digital Dumbo, and Boston Content. I also go to Intelligent.ly classes; not only is this a great environment to learn new things, but it’s also a terrific networking opportunity for anyone interested in startups.

What’s the one piece of advice you’d give for those looking to get into the start-up/tech world?

Startups are a extremely fast paced. You have to be okay with change and need to be adept at running with new things. Our product has evolved so much in the year I’ve been with Boundless, which is really exciting as a marketer. Every change is a chance to reach more students and hone our messaging.

What’s one thing people would never guess about you?

I once played a poached egg in a play while my sister starred opposite me as a hard boiled egg. I think she had an easier time getting into character.

Chat with Jess! Follow her on Twitter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Just…Love Love Young Women In Digital Feature: Jennifer, The Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


A marketing gal's journey through life as a young professional. The storyline includes heart flutters, hiccups and happiness along the way...with one big spoonful of creativity in each chapter. I'm also the founder of Young Women in Digital, a Boston-based group for digital marketers to mix and mingle at pressure-free, fun events around the city!

Women Online